Saturday, November 3, 2012

Days of Thanks - Day 3

I am thankful for my family. They all come together and become my rock in the times when I need it most. They are the most wonderful people who love without second thought.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Win My Gym Free For A Year!






Voting in the presidential election is important...so is voting for your family's fitness. Excercise your child's right for fun-filled activities, gymnastics, sports and more.  Take advantage of one of these amazing offers and you'll be entered to win My Gym Free for a Year!
  •     Enroll for 2 Months get the 3rd Month FREE!
  •     Enroll for 4 Months get the 5th Month FREE Plus Free Lifetime Membership!
  •     Enroll for 6 Months get 2 more months FREE Plus Free Lifetime Membership!
  •     Enroll for 9 Months get 3 more months FREE Plus Free Lifetime Membership!

Win My Gym FREE for a Year - plus a FREE Birthday Party http://www.my-gym.com/oct2012.aspx

Saturday, October 6, 2012

True Story




True story... My kid is a cannibal.

So we all know that teaching your children to speak has it's perks. In my house, it's laughing hysterically inside when they say a bad word or my heart warming when they say "I love you". It also has it's downfalls. You know... When they say "Oh F*ck!" around people that they should not or they start telling you "No!".

All in good time they will learn the words to say and not to say, but in the mean time I need to start using Spongebob words when I stub my toes or burn dinner.

Oh wait... This had a point...

This morning when I woke up to screaming in the twins room, it quickly came to my attention that Kay had bit Aaron. When I asked him why, he quickly replied "Chicken!".

WHAT!? Chicken!? Aaron is not your pre-breakfast snack!

Friday, September 28, 2012

Get a FREE month of ABCMouse.com






ABC Mouse offers a full online curriculum for preschool, pre-k, and kindergarten in the subjects of reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music. Children can start anywhere and move through the curriculum at their own pace! ABC Mouse has won numerous awards, including the Parent's Choice, Teacher's Choice, and Mom's Choice GOLD awards! Get your first month FREE!  CLICK HERE

**This is a sponsored post**

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Fancy Subscription






Oh damn... I have done it again. These monthly subscriptions get me all the time. Except this one is special... It's Fancy! I am sure you have heard the buzz around the internet about this Fancy website. It is actually a secret hobby of mine. I sit with my iPhone in hand and my consumerist heart pumping. My eye's burning and unable to shut, day dreaming of all of the Fancy things that I could own. The epic Spa bathrooms and the ultimate vacation spots dance in my dreams while my iPhone case that glitters now is looking dull.



So I did it... I subscribed. The promise that for only $30 a month, you will get a box of swag that is most Fancy'ed by the community worth over $60 was too intriguing. I HAD to do it. So I did.

So shortly after I placed by Fancy order, I received an email.

"Hi Jessica,

Thank you very much for your purchase of the Fancy Box! Fancy Box is Fancy's monthly subscription service that provides $60+ worth of goods for only $30 per month.

To help our curators identify the best products to send to you each month, please reply to this email and let us know:

1) your gender
2) your t-shirt size
3) which of the following two categories of goods you would like in your Fancy Box:

• Men's
• Women's
• Home
• Gadgets
• Media

By purchasing this item and replying to this email, you hereby consent to a $30 monthly fee for the Fancy Box. You will be charged on the first of the applicable calendar month and each order will be shipped on the 15th of that month. Subscription may be cancelled by emailing Fancy's Customer Service Team at cs@thefancy.com prior to the 1st of the calendar month for which you intend to cancel your subscription. Please include your Fancy order number in your email.

If you have any questions or concerns, contact our Customer Service Team atcs@thefancy.com. Your Fancy order number is: *****

Thank you for subscribing to the Fancy Box!

Sincerely,
Team Fancy"

Seemed simple enough, but I still had a few questions. Once you pick two categories, are you locked in for life? How often can you change them and by what date? The most important question... When will I get my freaking Fancy Box? 

Well... There is not a September box. Even though we all paid in September, we will have to wait until October 15th for ours to be shipped. Which is ok. You can change catagories. I currently have Women's and Gadgets. (I have been scouring these two categories trying to figure out what could possibly be in this fantastic Fancy Box?! The anticipation is killing me...) I have the ability to change categories by the first of the month that the next box ships. Example: If I want something for my husband in November, I have to change the category by November 1st so the box that ships on November 15th will have a Mens category. Also, if I want to cancel, the same applies. 

Hope this helps all you Fancy people out there that have also ordered or are planning to order! 

Sunday, September 9, 2012

How To - Dalek TuTu and Helmet

Tree weeks ago, I had very little idea who and what exactly Doctor Who is. Now, thanks to my beautiful sisters, I am partial expert.

Living in the ever partying Portland, my mom and sisters were planning to attend the Doctor Who party of the year. The season premiere party. There was numerous festivities, the most coveted was the costume contest. Spoilers. ( Did I do that right Doctor fans? )

Now, costumes are hard to find and when you do, they are expensive and never fit right. For C's we decided on a TuTu version of a Dalek.

Supplies:

1 large can of silver spray paint
10-20 squishy foam balls
1 yard of elastic
10 yards of tule ( more if you want a thicker tutu )
Hot glue gun & sticks
Duct tape
Black tights
Black form fitting shirt
Head fitting bowl
Medium paper cups
Tap on tap off light

Note: You can find most of these supplies at Dollar Tree, so stop there before heading to Jo-Ann's.

Step 1: Using bread knife, cut all foam balls in half. Lay out and spray a thin layer of paint over balls. This will take several coats of thin paint. If you sort thick, it will eat at the foam and we want shiny "eggs" not melty ones. Also, generously cover the two cups and bowl in paint. Allow time to dry.

Step 2: Make TuTu following these directions. Or find your favorite tutorial, and make away.

Step 3: Once "eggs" are dry, glue around TuTu in a lined pattern.

Hint: When working with hot glue, don't let small children in the room. You will get burned while paying attention to them trying to ensure they won't get burnt. Also, try to keep the glue to the outer edges of the half balls, otherwise they will sag and not look pretty.

Step 4: The hat! Glue one cup on each side, and the light in the front center.

Step 5: Once you are dressed in your new and AMAZING Dalek costume for the night, take duct tape and line your shirt with it. Whatever pattern or shape you like will do, C chose simple lines.

Step 6: Win the costume contest!

In conclusion, C & K both won the costume contest! Our Dalek in 1st place and Amelia Pond in 2nd. They had some amazing costumes and had a wonderful time! Also, my Mommy made a pretty awesome River Song!

Friday, September 7, 2012

Free Kelly's Kit MSRP $9.99






Kelly Kits encourage art play using a wide variety of creative tools & materials beyond what coloring books can offer. The Original Kelly Kit comes complete with one set of five unique activities that cover the five art disciplines: painting, drawing, sculpting, printmaking, & collage. Each kit contains all of the tools & materials needed for the activities, the user just needs access to a kitchen! To increase functionality for homeschooling parents, each activity includes an instruction card with an enrichment idea to adapt the art activity to a school lesson. Kelly Kits are designed to encourage creativity & teach!


This post is sponsored by Kelly's Kits and US Family Guide

Salt & Straw - A Portland Outsiders Review





Tucked away on 23rd a few blocks south of Lovejoy there is a little corner shop named Salt & Straw. My first experience was all to quick, I was able to steal a quick bite of my sisters Chocolate With Gooey Brownies. My mouth instantly fell in love. The cold and smooth ice cream with a brittle milk chocolate flavor and huge bursts of dense and gooey chocolate brownies. That was before I stepped inside the experience that is Salt & Straw.

Katie's First Salt & Straw


It feels like vintage farm house meets Portland. The servers are bright, cheerful and an eclectic bunch themselves. You can stop by in the morning for a perfectly pulled shot and some quiet newspaper reading or you can come in the afternoon and believe me, the line will wrap around to Kearney, but the wait is well worth it. Buy a pint and you can skip the line, or wait your turn and they will patiently let you sample the ice-cream while you decide which one best suits your mood.

My favorite? The Sea Salt with Caramel Ribbons. I do, as before mentioned, recommend waiting in line. There are a few flavors that are there permanently, but they are made fresh so the consistency is different. I have had the Sea Salt several times, and sometimes it is more salty or has more caramel.

Did I mention the best part yet? It's within walking distance from Nana's!


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

1st Day Of School Interview With D.




D's 1st day of 1st grade... A look into his interesting mind...

Q: What is your favorite memory over summer?
A: Playing DS outside with Nate

Q: Who is your best friend?
A: Riley, that's NOT a girl.

Q: What is your favorite number?
A: One that I can't count to.

Q: Which Pokemon is your favorite? <- He asked this, not me.
A: Oshowat. 

Q: What do you look forward to this school year?
A: Playing on the playground.





Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Gutzy Gear - House Party




Have you heard of Gutzy Gear yet? We had no idea what it was until we got an awesome chance to host a Gutzy Gear party for the kids in our mommy group. They had a blast! This was there first party that focused on a product instead of a birthday kid, so there was a little confusion. But all in all it went over pretty well. Especially when they found out they get to take home there own Gutzy Gear straps and patches!

D Proudly Sporting His New Gutzy Gear

It was a great day, filled with games and smiles along with a tantrum or two. But we made it through and were all smiling in the end. 

Want more information on Gutzy Gear? Check out there website: http://www.gutzygear.com which is very kid friendly. Not only can you collect Gutzy Gear for your back pack, but you can also build an online collection.

This was a party sponsored by MomSelect and Maria Bailey, all opinions expressed are indeed my own.

Monday, August 6, 2012

Keep Valuables Safe This School Year



With another school year upon us, one of the few important things on my mind is how are we going to keep the valuables safe when the kids take them to school? Lockers, cubbies and desks are often shared, so how?

I keep a tight rope on my son and watch carefully what he takes to and from school and often, he takes his DSi. I am not a very happy mom when he does, but if it is a rainy day and they are having indoor recess I let it slide.

How do we keep it safe while school is in session?

Tell the teacher! It is simple, all the schools have a no cell phones or electronics during class policy. The teachers are more than happy to throw a DSi or a cell phone in there drawer during class to keep it safe.


But, if your kid is not willing to cough it up for the teacher, you may want to check out Master Lock's line of awesome back to school gear!


Make sure you head over to there Facebook page and keep an eye out for special deals and test your safety and security knowledge and take the Master Combo Challenge! facebook.com/masterlock

This is being posted because I am entering a contest for a Master Lock back-to-school prize pack as a member of the Mom Bloggers Club

Monday, July 30, 2012

Free Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days ticket!






Get your FREE TICKET to see Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days when it hits theaters 8/3 with three easy steps!,

1. Collect 3 codes from participating Go-Gurt Diary of a Wimpy Kid boxes
2. Enter the codes at www.GoGurtMovieTicket.com
3. Print out your ticket and head to the theater!

Friday, July 27, 2012

Pull-Ups Sample!







Quick! Head over to Costco and snag a FREE samples of Huggies Pull Ups for either a girl or a boy. You DO NOT NEED A membership id.

Now That.. That Is Strange



This morning I woke up like usual to the twins fussing to get out of there room. I drug myself to the room to let them out and was greeted by snot on my knees and boogery faces wanting to be kissed.
I slowly follow them to the kitchen so I can get my coffee and they there milk.

When we complete our adventure, I am confronted by a table covered in salt. I roll my eyes and put it on my mental check list. I brew my coffee, grab a couple cups for the twins and D, turn around to get in to the fridge for milk when "Ahhh" I stick my hand in some peanut butter that had somehow made it's way on to the front of the fridge. I step to the right and my foot is suddenly in a puddle of water from the cat bowl. I am afraid to open my eyes and look around at what type of mess D's midnight snack made last night.

Another thing on my mental checklist.

Milk is almost gone, also it is missing it's lid and I am pretty sure some backwash is floating in it.
My eyes go big and my heart sinks. Oh please... Not the cheese.

My son... He likes to do this thing when ever we get cheese. He will straight up chew on the giant brick. If I was not busy lecturing him on the cost of food and how to properly eat it, I would have taken a picture last time. It looked like a team of rats had the munchies. But see... None of this is strange to me. It would be strange if I woke up and the house was not in disarray from D waking up hungry in the middle of the night or I was not covered in boogers for a day.


Don't ask me why he salted him peanut butter sandwich though... That to me... That's strange.



Saturday, July 21, 2012

Smoking? Not Me!





A week ago yesterday, I was still a smoker. It was pretty pathetic because it was so embedded in to my routine. I literally had my morning cigarette at almost the same time every day. I made sure I would wake up before the kids, make my coffee and steal away to the back porch to smoke and drink my coffee. I had been smoking for the better part of a decade. Minus of course pregnancy and breastfeeding. There were times when I was a pack a day ( or more ) smoker and times when I was only a "social" smoker. I was always going to quit eventually but time got away with me. My body is so saturated with nicotine that yes, it feels HORRIBLE to not continue to put it in.

I can tell you the first few days quitting were easy. I planned on quitting while I was at my Mommy's for the weekend, she kept us busy running ( literally ) and playing. I thought it would be rough when I went to see family, or came back to town because I was around smokers. That was actually not the hard part. I can stand right in front of my husband, while he is smoking, and not want anything to do with it.

It's the down time that is hard. Mind you, I don't have much of it. What little I have I use to blog or shower. But at night, when the kids are sleeping... My legs shake with anxiety over not having a cigarette. The other night, I literally was puking from "withdrawals". It has been miserable, but worth it.
There are already perks though. Going on my daily walk, I actually RAN and did not feel like crap. I felt like I looked ridiculous running behind a double jogging stroller that stands as tall as my chest, but I ran, and it felt so good! My taste buds are coming back. This I did not know much about until things started tasting funny a day or two ago.... Smoking destroys your taste buds!

Today is another day, and I am feeling good. Hopefully it does not end like yesterday... I almost smacked my husband for packing his cigarettes in front of me...

Oh... The biggest thing that keeps me from smoking? I just remember how every time I have "un-quit", that first drag of that first smoke, makes you feel like major crap. It taste's nasty, it makes me dizzy and pukey. I would rather feel jittery right now, than that for five seconds.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

iCandy Stroller Giveaway!




Megan, who blogs at Behavioral Child and Megan Blogs, was a guest of the CBS TV show The Talk when Dr. Gadget was on, and among other things, she was given the iCandy Cherry stroller, in the liquorice color. She is giving it away to one lucky, random winner. This British-made stroller is very popular in Europe and is sold only in exclusive stores here in the US. Its retail value is $400. 

{Disclaimer/Disclosure: I have not used this stroller so I can’t vouch for it. I have it in its original/new packaging and will ship it to the winner in the exact same condition. So essentially, I’m re-gifting it :) The Talk has no idea what I’m doing with it, nor would it probably care. By entering this giveaway, you agree to indemnify me, The Talk, and iCandy from any responsibilities of all issues arising from the receipt and use of this prize. Thanks for participating and good luck! - Megan Broutian}

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Copy Kids & Steps 4 Kids DVD Giveaway!




DVD Copy-Kids Eat Fruits & Vegetables
First up we have a Review of:

Copy-Kids Eat Fruits and Vegetables DVD 

Of course having 8 children aged 1-17 I know how much kids love to copy.  We can see that from Matthew who is 1 when he watches his 3 year old twin brother and sister.  He copies all they do. This DVD takes advantage of that fact as the kids eat healthy Fruits and Vegetables. Not only did the babies love watching this movie but the older kids actually watched it too. I have to admit that even mom was craving fresh fruits and veggies by the end.

The second time we watched it I served cut up apples, red peppers, yellow peppers, green peppers and cucumbers. For mom and dad we sprinkled Garlic salt with parsley onto the cucumbers. The kids ate everything fresh with no dipping sauce. 

They loved to  copy the kids. I read that they are planning other copy kids DVDs also. The next ones are planned to have topics such as  how to tie their shoes, brush their teeth, exercise as well as letter and number recognition and more healthy eating... all taught by kids. 

For the parents there is an interview with pediatrician Dr. Jay Gordon, MD, FAAP.  Dr. Gordon is the author of Good Food Today, Great Food Tomorrow. You can find a lot of valuable information on his website as well.





Next  up  we have a Steps 4 Kids to Draw DVD. The older 
kids said this was too childish for them but actually ended  up liking it. You can let it play through and watch it or pick through the menu to find what you want to draw.  There are many items to draw in it animals, Vehicles, houses and more. The pictures are simple drawings and great for my 3-8 year old children to start out with. It does spark the imagination of the older children and even Mommy and Daddy. If you seen my page of Free Things To Do with Kids you may have noticed Art on the list. Watching a video and drawing what they see has kept my kids busy many summer days. Steps 4 Kids also has a variety of other learning videos that you can purchase on their web site. 

Use Coupon code blogn30 to get 30% off of a $10 or more purchase at Steps 4 Kids.


 I am very interested to see the movies that both of these companies  produce next. 
 One lucky winner will win a copy of both of these DVD's.

Disclosure: Missy from www.simplyraising8.com was given a copy of these DVD's in exchange for her honest opinion. She will ship one and the other will be shipped out by another company.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Winter Park Play Free

Is your family ready to escape the heat, breathe fresh Rocky Mountain air and save money on a summer getaway? Then your plans should include Winter Park, Colorado! With Winter Park Play Free, when you book 2 nights of lodging with participating merchants, you’ll get $50 on a Winter Park Key lCard to spend on activities, shopping and dining… your choice of play throughout Winter Park & The Fraser Valley. Click here http://www.usfamilyguide.com/THISSITElinktrack.php?bid=10738&type=additionallink&listingid=97 to learn more about Winter Park Play Free. Winter Park is 67 miles from Denver, has 200+ sizzling summer events, 600 miles of trails and Colorado's longest alpine slide.

Monday, July 9, 2012

Lets Be Honest Campaign & Giveaway!




April 30th Purex launched their new Let's Be honest campaign featuring the comedian Molly Erdman. They created a hilarious series of short video's sharing some very honest and ironic moments. 

They will be uploading video's through July on the http://www.purex.com website. While you are there checking out the video's, be sure to enter their sweepstakes to win a FULL YEARS SUPPLY OF PUREX!

Another great part of this? Two of you have a chance to win some Purex of your own! Simply comment below after checking out the Let's Be Honest video's and let me know which your favorite is!

Winner will be picked on July 19th so be sure to get your comments in before then!


In exchange for this post I will be receiving 3 free product coupons from the generous folks at the Purex Insiders group.

Sunday, July 8, 2012

$50 LadyMate Giveaway 7/8-7/14




 We have teamed up with Chic Reviews and Freetail Therapy to give you an AWESOME Prize! Who says luxury lingerie has to be expensive? LadyMate offers chic bras, panties, camisoles, babydolls, and more—large selection of sizes, colors, and styles—at affordable prices. Most items are available in sets, so you can get a cohesive look without hunting for individual items. Seize today’s deal to stock up for a romantic summer getaway, or to shop for a wedding shower. Now you can slip into something more comfortable, without stretching your budget. Enter in the Rafflecopter below to win a $50 LadyMate Gift Certificate! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Xbox Kinect Bundle GIVEAWAY July 8-22



Have you heard? We are having a Techy Summer over at Mom to Bed by 8, theIowa Mom and want to help you continue on with your sensational summer by offering you a chance to win an Xbox Kinect Bundle Pack (including Xbox 360 console, Kinect Sensor and Kinect Adventures Game). Retail value $299.

A HUGE thanks to our wonderful co-hosts TechyTribe, I Love To Gossip, Giveaway Bandit, As Mom Sees It and Couponing4you for their support in bringing this gamer giveaway to life!


Xbox 360 4GB Console with Kinect
Product Description
The Xbox 360 4GB Console with Kinect. Kinect brings games and entertainment to life in extraordinary new ways – no controller required. Easy to use and instantly fun, Kinect gets everyone off the couch moving, laughing and cheering. See a ball? Kick it. Control an HD movie with a wave of the hand. Want to join a friend in the fun? Simply jump in. Wi-Fi is built-in for easier connection to the world of entertainment on Xbox LIVE, where HD movies and TV stream in an instant. Xbox 360 is more games, entertainment and fun.
Product Features
Kinect Sensor: With the Kinect sensor, you can experience gaming like never before. Easy to use and fun for everyone, the Kinect sensor utilizes revolutionary full-body tracking to put you in the center of the fun. This amazing new technology allows the sensor to recognize your body and mirror your movements in the game, making you the controller. With Kinect Xbox 360 now has the best controller ever made – YOU.
Built-in Wi-Fi: The new Xbox 360 is the only console with 802.11n Wi-Fi built-in for a faster and easier connection to Xbox LIVE. Stream HD movies and TV or download games from Xbox LIVE in 1080p and 5.1 surround sound from anywhere in the house. Compatible with b/g/n networks.
Xbox LIVE: Xbox LIVE brings a world of entertainment to you. Instantly watch movies and TV streaming from Netflix. In crystal-clear HD, or download game add-ons like new levels, characters, maps and songs. Easily jump right into online multiplayer fun and play along with friends around the world. Plus, get your favorite music from Last.fm, connect with friends on Facebook and post Tweets on Twitter. Xbox LIVE is your connection to more games, entertainment and fun.
Xbox 360 Wireless Controller (black): This award-winning, high-performance wireless controller features a range of up to 30 feet and a battery life of up to 30 hours on two AA batteries.
More ports: Connect more accessories and storage solutions with added USB ports. Now with a total of 5, (3 back/2 front) you’ll find more places to plug and play. Plus, in addition to the standard Ethernet port and HDMI output, we’ve added an integrated optical audio out port for an easier connection to the booming sound of your A/V receiver.
Kinect Adventures game: Float in outer space. Experience the thrill of roaring rapids. Tackle mountaintop obstacle courses and dive into the deep to explore a leaky underwater observatory — all from your living room. With Kinect Adventures, you are the controller as you jump, dodge and kick your way through exciting adventures set in a variety of exotic locations. Rated “E” for Everyone.
What’s In The Box?
  • Xbox 360 4GB S Console
  • Kinect Sensor for Xbox 360
  • Kinect Adventures game - rated “E” for Everyone
  • Xbox 360 Black Wireless Controller
  • Xbox 360 Composite A/V cable (standard definition)
  • 1 year limited warranty on console